1993 Australian 20g Silver $10 Capital Territory Proof Coin in Presentation Box

Australian State Series - Australian Capital Territory
Low: $0.00
High: $0.00
  • Membership unlocks:
    Tiered pricing, promotional discounts, loyalty reward points, stock availability, guaranteed buyback, my vault portfolio tools, custom charts and much more.
    Login/register to buy this item and enjoy member benefits

This commemorative ten Dollar coin is one piece from an 8 coin set known as the State Series. They were released on an annual basis between the years of 1985-1993, excluding the year 1988. Each coin commemorates a different Australian State or Territory and bears the Coat of Arms of each one. This coin paying tribute to the Australian Capital Territory was the eighth in the series and issued in 1993. It was joined by Victoria, South Australia, New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia, Tasmania and Northern Territory. Each of the coins were produced in sterling silver in both proof and mint state condition. The reverse of the coin was designed by Horst Hahne and features the Coats of Arms of Australian Capital Territory. The legend reads 10 DOLLARS at the bottom and AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY at the top. The obverse features Raphael Maklouf's portrait of her Majesty Queen Elizabeth with the legend reading ELIZABETH II AUSTRALIA 1993.

The two different versions of the coin were issued in different kinds of packaging. The proof coin was issued in a black, hinged presentation box. The outer box of which reads ROYAL AUSTRALIAN MINT, $10 PROOF COIN, STATE SERIES, 1993. The mint state specimen was sealed onto a card and presented in a wallet style case also including a description card which provided a brief introduction to the history of the state. Once the entire series had been released a large black presentation case was issued suitable to house the entire series.

The Australian Capital territory is the smallest internal self-governing territory of Australia and it's only city is Canberra. It was made part of the commonwealth by the State of New South Wales to which it had previously belonged in 1911. Canberra was named the capital city in 1913 and became home to parliament in 1927. The rest of the territory that is not considered to be Canberra is mainly agricultural land, national park and a few small towns. The floral emblem for the territory is the Royal bluebell and the bird emblem is the Gang-gang cockatoo. As the Australian Capital Territory doesn't have it's own coat of arms's this commemorative coin features that of Canberra, which is generally used to represent the ACT. The Coat of arms of Canberra was granted in 1928 by King George V after a competition was held to find the best design, which was won by MR. C. R. Wylie. The shield features a castle, sword, white rose and imperial crown with an imperial crown, portcullis and gum tree on top to form the crest. The supporters are a black swan on one side and a white one on the other. There is motto, written in English reading "For the Queen, the Law and the People". Obviously the motto has been adapted accordingly and originally read For the King.

Products specifications

Product ID 31
Metal Silver
Purity 999
Weight 20g
Grade Proof
Mint Royal Australian Mint
Type Coin
Variant Australian Capital Territory
Condition Sourced from Private Collection
Year 1993
Denomination $10
Packaging Individual coin capsules, presentation box
Superfund Approved No
Origin Australian
Theme Places
Monarch Elizabeth II

Vault storage

Safely and cost effectively store your gold and silver in our high security Brisbane Vault. Learn more

Local pick up

Click and collect orders from our Brisbane office by appointment with photographic ID. Learn more

Secure shipping

Save time and parking fees. Insured door to door with real time track and trace. Learn more